What to Expect in the EYFS

A Guide for Parents

At Linden House Nursery, we follow the Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) Curriculum for all children. This provides us with a framework to monitor each child’s learning and development progress through observation, free play, and planned activities. The EYFS is designed to support the development of children and highlights the importance of the role of parents and carers in helping their child grow.

The EYFS includes the legal welfare requirements for registered childcare providers, the Seven areas of learning and development, assessments, and the Early Learning Goals (ELGs). We make sure to incorporate all seven areas into our early years curriculum, providing a stimulating learning environment for the children.

At Linden House Nursery, we believe that every child is special and deserves to be treated with love, care, and affection. We follow the 4 principles of the EYFS: A Unique Child, Positive Relationships, Enabling Environments, and Learning and Development. Our aim is to support each child in becoming a competent learner, building strong and secure relationships, and providing an environment that promotes their growth and learning

The Department for Education has published a new guide for parents – ‘What to expect in the Early Years Foundation Stage’ (formerly ‘What to expect when’) which guides parents through what to expect in their child’s development. It aligns with the new Development Matters to help practitioners engage with parents about their child’s development. Please view this useful document below or download.

Linden House Nursery

83 west street

© LHN - Contact Us

Website by DLL Webdesigns